iguana and tiger

ImageImage

 

Quick sketches done last night.

The indian ink is a bit harder to use in the dip pen than the quink drawing ink, it bleeds into the paper unless you move the pen really quickly which doesn’t give you much time to be accurate. It makes everything look like a Quentin Blake picture. I need to experiment with different paper and maybe buy some other nibs for the dip pen.

 

I love the colours of the inks though – I bought an acrylic “process yellow” by Daler Rowney and it’s thicker, like a paint. When I mix it with the red, the oranges are spectacular.

 

I’ve never really bought colours of paints/inks individually before – I usually just use whatever is in the cheap set from “the works” that happens to be on offer when i need new paints.

 

Because the inks are so expensive (£5 each) I have to buy them individually, and wait betweentimes, which means I’m falling in love with each colour as I get it.

 

I’ve been sketching for years but I’ve never been very confident with colour. At school i was the queen of the detailed pencil sketch but I never learnt how to use oils etc. Painting skin – faces and bodies – is still a mystery to me (although no doubt a quick exploration on Youtube will yield instruction videos).

 

I am really, really loving the inks – they’re a nice compromise between sketching and painting, and everything comes out looking like children’s books from my youth.

 

Leave a Reply

